Album Review: Balance 021 Mixed By Nic Fanciulli


If there was one album I was most excited for to drop this week, it was Balance 021 mixed by one of my favorite producers, Nic Fanciulli. The young Grammy nominated producer already has a long list of accomplishments to account for. Nic has proved that talent, hard work and dedication can go quite a long way. Not only does he have many self-accomplishments, but also his own record label, Saved Records, has allowed many talented DJs to slowly unveil some real underground house music.

Close your eyes and let CD 1, “Balance”, take you on a smooth, deep house journey. CD 1 is all about the articulation, which was achieved in both discs, but this one especially. It starts off with a very chill tech intro, and then slowly moves into the deep house sound we don’t hear too often. My top three favorite tracks off CD 1 are Joris Voorn, “Spank the Maid”, Nic Fanciulli, “Movin’ On” and Martin Eyerer, Glimpse “Southern Soul” (Jay Shepheard Remix).

Next up was CD 2 “Saved” reflecting the best sounds from Nic’s own label, Saved Records, one of the most respected labels in the UK and around the globe. This CD includes so many deep melodic house grooves. I got the vibe it was all about changing the tempo. As you move from track to track, so do the ups, downs, and basslines. I believe it is truly a difficult skill to be able to change the tempo whenever you want as a DJ, but it seems Nic has mastered that based off this disc. My favorite three tracks have to be Subb-an, “This Place”, Mark Fanciulli, “Sacrifice”, and Radio Slave feat. Danton EEPROM, “Grindhouse” (Nic Fanciulli Remix).

Overall, many of these tracks in the compilation have already been supported by techno and tech house DJs. That’s also why I feel the track selection of the whole album was truly genius. I can guarantee most of the tracks on this album (probably more from Disc 2) will be heard live this summer from some of our favorite techno DJs.

In the latest DJ Boris “Get Wet” Podcast, Danton EEPROM “Grindhouse” (Nic Fanciulli Remix) was dropped. Carl Cox has been dropping Mark Fanciulli “Sacrifice” for months now. He even played it in his latest set at the 23rd grand opening of Space Ibiza along with &Me “Matters” also on CD 2. I could go on and on with certain tracks on the album I remember hearing in a radio show or podcast and just saying, “Wow”, especially to Nic’s remix of the track, “Grindhouse”. So do yourself a favor… buy a copy of Balance 021, sit down, and enjoy the two disc musical journey Nic Fanciulli takes us on!

And don’t forget you can catch Nic Fanciulli along with Joris Voorn and Loco Dice at Dekalb Market in Brooklyn next Friday, June 8, 2012! Get tickets “HERE

Balance 021 Mixed By Nic Fanciulli

Buy it on Beatport “HERE

CD 1: Balance Tracklisting:

  1. Luca & Bruno – Raindrops Intro
  2. Maya Jane Coles – Something In The Air [Hypercolour]
  3. SIS – Break Down [Cocoon Recordings]
  4. DifferentME – Back To Tomorrow [Deleted]
  5. Iron Curtis – Goma [Kolour Recordings Digital]
  6. Eastmen – U Dig (Cassy & Chris Carrier Remix) [Soma Records]
  7. Jae B – Vibe [petFood]
  8. NTFO, Rhadow – Roots [Sinetope Digital]
  9. Franck Roger, Mendel Turner – After All [Real Tone Records]
  10. Oscar Offerman – Only My Shorts [WHITE MUSIC]
  11. &ME – Purple Rain [Keinemusik]
  12. Ray Okpara (Feat. Obi Jazz) – Bounce To This [Mobilee Records]
  13. And.Id – Need For Chicago [2020Vision]
  14. SLG – I Love You But I’ve Chosen Disco (Feat. Smolny) [Pets Recordings]
  15. Joris Voorn – Spank The Maid [Rejected]
  16. Nic Fanciulli – Movin’ On [Rejected]
  17. Pol_On – Heavy Rain [Systematic Recordings]
  18. Lovebirds – The Beast [Liebe Detail]
  19. Quell – Joy [These Days]
  20. Ricardo Villalobos, Jay Haze – Fenlow [Contexterrior]
  21. Efron, Piek  – Vous Etes Fou [Inmotion Music]
  22. Anonym – If Every Day Was A Sunny Day [Bass Culture Records]
  23. Humano – Life [Music Man Records]
  24. Vernon Bara, Igor Vincente – Don’t Feel No Way [Visionquest]
  25. Martin Eyerer, Glimpse – Southern Soul (Jay Shepheard Remix) [Buzzin’ Fly Records]
  26. Mario Basanov – Up [Needwant]
  27. Omar S – Here’s Your Trance Now Dance [FXHE Records]


CD 2: Saved Tracklisting:

  1. Gianni Callipari – Whybee
  2. Simon Baker & Robert James – All Of A Sudden
  3. Guti, Livio & Roby – We Are
  4. Samu.l – Forgiven
  5. Mark Broom – Jackpot (Robert James Remix)
  6. Subb-an – This Place
  7. Philip Bader, Andrea Oliva – Girls
  8. Emerson Todd – Haere Mai
  9. &ME – Matters
  10. Robert Dietz – Bingo Wings
  11. Nic Fanciulli, Stacey Pullen – Limmo (Robert Dietz Remix)
  12. Philip Bader – Amir Loves You (Nic Fanciulli & Davide Squillace Remix)
  13. Clio – Bad Boy + Harvey McKay – Showface (Acapella)
  14. Alex Tepper – Feng Shoe
  15. Boris Ross & Jeff Moore – Golden Dreams
  16. Nic Fanciulli – Wild
  17. Loco Dice – Definition (Nic Fanciulli Remix)
  18. Winx vs. Nic Fanciulli – Don’t Laugh (2012 Remix)
  19. Clio – Mister Nice
  20. Nic Fanciulli, Rolando – The Test (Paul Ritch Funky Mix)
  21. Radio Slave – Grindhouse (Nic Fanciulli Remix)
  22. Hollen, Pirupa – Black Fusion
  23. Nic Fanciulli, Gary Beck – Hear Me Out (Nikola Gala Remix)
  24. Chiapet – Westworld (Skylark Remix)
  25. Mark Fanciulli – Sacrifice





About Author

Comments are closed.